Skip to content
August 2, 2010 / V A Nichols

Ishmael

A local up-and-coming animal advocate asked me today if I had a recommended reading list.

Realizing I didn’t have one written-down anywhere, I thought it could be fun to share books that have raised my awareness and ignited my commitment to animal protection.

Starting with one of my favorites…

This novel by Daniel Quinn is the winner of the Turner Tomorrow Fellowship. Subtitled An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit, Quinn’s novel enables us to explore just how authentically we are living our lives.

The teaser from the back cover reads:

________________________

TEACHER SEEKS PUPIL

Must have an earnest desire to

save the world. Apply in person.

_________________________

“It was just a three-line ad in the personals section, but it launched the adventure of a lifetime.

For animal advocates, you will be enamored of the very unique ‘teacher.’

Enjoy!

V A —

Leave a Reply

